Friday 7 July 2017

JR Yamanote Line-How To See Tokyo In A Day

The Yamanote Line (Silver with green stripe) is a JR train line (above ground) that circles downtown Tokyo (both clockwise and ant-clockwise) and takes one hour.There are 50 trains operating with eleven carriages and the service is frequent. The train stops at all stations and each has its own specific area of interest. You can of course start in Tokyo and the go to Shinagawa, Shibuya, Ebisu, Shinjuku, Ikebukuro, Ueno and Akihabara. Each is different and covers major business and shopping areas to open parks and temples to the electrical stores of Akihabara. Make sure you buy a Suica Card for ease of use along the way. Harajuku has extensive gardens and temples so you can get away from the high rise as well as walk to the classy area of Ometsando. Shibuya is busy with myriads of shops and restaurants and many young people. Eueno has temples and a zoo, Shinjuku, shops and businesses and restaurants. There is a mass of things to do and see so get a good guide book before you go.

Photo courtesy of JR and map Yamanote Line facebook

No comments:

Post a Comment